Tame Impala: Feels Like We Only Go Backwards

I have a certain feeling that my repeat button may go bust anytime soon as I cannot stop listening to Feels Like We Only Go Backwards by Tame Impala.

This garage band was first formed in 1999 but it wasn’t until 2008 they were signed by Modular due to their performances on MySpace. Tame Impala describes themselves as “psychedelic hypno-groove melodic rock music” which absolutely sums up this track! As soon as I hit play I am transported into a peaceful but almost mysterious world by the slow drum beats mixed with Kevin Parkers, lead vocals, soft delightful voice. Also, the music video fits perfectly with this summery track as the vibrant colours and fast transitions sums up the bands aim of their music to move one’s body.

I love this track as I am able to play it whatever mood I am in and cannot wait to blast it out during the summer. I find myself swaying to the catchy melodies and singing the same haunting lyrics around the house. I’m so annoyed with myself that I missed them perform in a local venue but I’m excited to see what this band will do next and hopefully get to see them live!

Leave a Reply

